Middlebury

Major Advising Checklist: Environmental Studies—Creative Arts Focus

All ESAR majors should use this form as they plan out the timing of their major coursework.

After filling out the form, hit "submit" to send the completed form to the email addresses that you entered for the fields "advisor's email" and "your email"

Please enter the semester the course was taken or will be taken. For any electives, please also enter the course number.

To review the major requirements and list of cognate courses, click here.

I. Core Courses
These four courses must be completed by the end of the junior year.
II. Cognate Courses: Laboratory Sciences from Approved List
Students who do not have an environmental science foci need to take two lab science cognates.
Cognate 1
Cognate 2
III. Focus (8 courses)
Each student proposing a Creative Arts focus will submit to the arts advisor and ES chair a 1-2 page statement articulating their proposed connection between art and the environment, specifically linking her or his creative work with environmental perspectives.
IV. Senior Experience
Students must have completed all four core courses before they can enroll in ES 401.
V. Off-campus course substitutions (if applicable)
For students studying off-campus, a total of up to three courses may count toward the major. Courses for the focus need approval from the advisor. Courses for cognates need approval from the director in consultation with other appropriate faculty members. Please list each approved off-campus course counting toward your major requirements. Include, course title, the course it is replacing and the semester it was taken.
Student Information
Advisor
Christal Brown (dance): christal@middlebury.edu Alex Draper (theater): adraper@middlebury.edu Tzveta Kassabova (dance): tkassabova@middlebury.edu Hedya Klein (studio art): hklein@middlebury.edu Jason Mittell (film & media culture): jmittell@middlebury.edu Kit Wilson: wilson@middlebury.edu
Please use this space to provide any additional information or explanations for your advisor regarding your major requirement plan.

Program in Environmental Studies

Franklin Environmental Center at Hillcrest
531 College Street
Middlebury College
Middlebury, VT 05753